So I have been here for 3 months! 3 MONTHS! I cant even comprehend time anymore, when I think about how long I've been here I feel like time is going way to fast! But when I think about how much time I have left here time seems to be going very slow. I don't know which one I should prefer. I'm starting to go through the period of minor homesickness. Its nothing to really worry about, exchange students go through it, but I just wish it would go away. I mainly feel homesickness when I'm not doing anything, which usually means while I'm at school. But as long as I keep myself occupied I'm as happy as ever! At school I am improving so much! The other day I opened my sketch book to start working on my drawing some more and I literally gasped and said "HOLY SHIT I DREW THAT!" but nobody understood me, so to them I was just jumping up and down screaming, my friend thought I was upset about the drawing. With other subjects its another story. I did answer one oral test question, who is Machievelli? He wrote Il Principe, and that was it. Right now all I do is copy my friend's notes and try to understand them, but I don't take part in any tests...yet. In math I actually do nothing, they are way to far ahead of me so right now I'm just waiting for my math book in the mail, for now I get to sleep during that class (which I did today). I'm starting to get to know my class mates more and more, also some other students at the school. I met one boy Danielle, he is the only student (that I know of) who speaks English in the school. So I got to talk to him, turns out he's an actor and has done 2 movies and is working on a TV show right now. WOW! Plus he's super cute.
![]() |
| Daniele |
![]() |
| Marco |
but as actors go hes a little narcissistic so I've decided not even try. My newest friend Marco is super cool, hes in a band and loves to show me his music collection! I have a feeling we are going to be best friends.
At home things are still going well, I talk to my host mom (poorly) and to my host dad, although with my host sister we are starting to get really distant. Its not that I don't like her its just we really just don't have many similar interest. If she was living in Taos I doubt we would ever hang out or say anything to each other in school. But we do get along fine. I do feel bad for my host mom, she seems so bummed that I don't speak perfect Italian yet and it makes me a little frustrated. I am not bad at Italian I just cant understand all these grammar rules! So I'm trying and I do speak better than some other people (those people being the kids that got stuck in town with English speakers, that would be tough) and better Italian than when I came here; It is still a bit annoying when I speak Italian to someone and they just respond in English. And as the Italians all say "Piano Piano" "Steady Steady".
As for Rome I am proud to say I have been there 5 or 6 times and almost completely know my way around! The fact that everything is right next to each other is still a bit hard to understand so every trip I learn my bearings more and more.
![]() |
| Tevi Fountain |
![]() |
| Coppia di Musici |
![]() |
| Madonna con il Bambino |
I did see some clothes that looked as if my mom had something to do with them; one dress looked like one of her black and white doodles.
The visit to Rome before that was one of the craziest moments of my life! If you have ever heard the song "It's A Small World After All" and didn't understand, then get this. So me and two other girls from the states (Bekah and Lucia) were walking around Rome, mainly around the Colosseum area, talking about things and looking at all the amazing monuments Rome has. We stopped at a bar (cafe) and got some grapefruit, then started walking down Via del Corso, a huge street with lots of people, trying to find Trevi Fountain. As we were walking I started spacing out looking at the other side of the street and something catches my eye, a boy that looked sort of like our friend Orion. So I stop and keep staring at this boy and the more I look at him the more he looks like Orion, so I say "hey guys is that Orion?" and they are just as confused so I shout at him "ORION!?" and he LOOKS OVER!!! How amazing is that! Just walking down a crowded street in Rome and see another kid from AFS just walking with his host family on the other side! Not only that, but about 20 minutes later as we were standing in front of the Colosseum, two other girls from AFS Jenny and Camila come running up screaming our names! It is indeed a small world. Makes me think about who else I might run into on this trip...
![]() |
| Orion (Washington), Jenny (Iceland), Lucia (Minnesota), Camila (Dominican Republic), Bekah (Oregon) and Me! |








thanks for the mention (!) and the wonderful update!
ReplyDelete