Friday, December 24, 2010

Occupazione!!!

Ciao Tutti!
So the last two months here in Italy and also around Europe, something has been stirring. I wasn't aware of the situation until a couple weeks ago so I thought I would talk about it now. As some of you know in Italy there are a lot of protests! Almost every week! This is really normal here and it has taken me a while to get use to, I'm still not completely use to it. This year my school held some protests, a couple assemblies then an occupation. You know a good ole sit in. Why? Well after it was all over I found out it was because the government now wants to make students pay for all schooling, even public school. Now this is crossing the line! When I finally heard the reason for all this I wanted to join them in their fight. How could this privilege be taken away? All students deserve a right to a free education, otherwise I feel like the world would go to shit. As I learned in Michael Moore's latest film "Capitalism: A Love Story", on January 11th 1944 FDR declared a second Bill of Rights, an "economic bill of rights". He stated it would guarantee employment with a living wage, freedom from unfair competition and monopolies, housing, medical care, EDUCATION and social security for all. WHY HAS THIS NOT HAPPENED! Why cant all people have these rights? What sick twisted game is the government playing? Kids my age are already having enough trouble staying in school these days, adding a money factor doesn't help at all. Well I'm rambling...This is what is going on in Italy right now, and I am with all the students in saying that having to pay for an education is wrong and unfair. All we can do now is fight and wait and hope the government will vote no.
Here is a small article on more: http://libcom.org/news/we-wont-pay-the-crisis-26102008

My school

No comments:

Post a Comment