Monday, September 20, 2010

First week in Ariccia

Well week 1 is complete....I dont know what to think! I'm so amazed that I'm in Italy!!! And it has only been a week! I have 39 more in this beautiful country!!! Its just beautiful living in Italy! The only problem so far has been the time change. My body is still not use to sleeping during day time at home and being a wake during the night. So all day I feel totally exhausted and just want to sleep and at night I'm ready to do stuff and cant sleep!!! Its terrible but I know soon i'll get use to it. My first day of school was tuesday, it was weird I had absolutely no idea what was going on!!! I just followed my sister around the school. The first couple of days were weird and confusing but once everyone settled I could start to figure out where we were and sort of what we were doing. Because I'm attending an art school life is a lot easier. It my art classes I just have to observe and when the teacher explains something I'm doing wrong, I can understand easily! And after one day at my school, looking at everyones art I was able to draw this!!!


      After about 5 days of just sitting around with Beatrice's friends I started to actually interact and try and talk with them, its very fun and they are really nice people!
My friends...
 







In conclusion...I LOVE ITALY! I am really excited about school and my friends and everything about this country! I will report back when more is to report! Love you all!!! Ciao!!!

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

BENVENUTI A ITALIA!!!

CIAO!!!!
     I CANT BELIEVE I AM HERE! I AM IN ITALY! It was a long trip, but I am finally here! I dont even know where to begin!!!!! I guess I will start at the beginning, which is also the end.
Last day in Taos, September 7th: I had to pack, get a little more organized, and do a bunch of errands, including sending a package to my boyfriend : ), I said goodbye to some people and then my mom and I left for Denver! When we were about an hour away we stopped to try and find a luggage store, because my big suitcase was breaking (it was 7$ at a thrift store). The first one we went to was closed and the people who worked there were in the back kissing (we could see them it was really funny). Then we went to Khol's and found one! It was very big and perfect. Afterward we went to the hotel and switched suitcases, got more organized and went to bed.
     In the morning we went to the airport and found out that I had 20 extra pounds in my luggage and it would cost 100$ extra to check, so we took as much out as we could and put it in a REI shopping bag, which I had to carry with me on the plane (it was very annoying). We took a train to my gate and my mom and I said our goodbyes (it was sad).
     When I arrived in New York everything went well, I got my bags and found the other AFS kids right away, I just saw a bunch of kids sitting together talking. We went to the hotel where we started the first orientation. I met a lot of kids (58 americans), I cant remember most of their names...



     After the orientation we hopped onto a bus and went to JFK airport, we waited there for about 3 hours then got on the plane. The plane ride was about 8 hours and was horrible, I tried to sleep but could never find a comfortable position, so I watched some parts of "4 Weddings and a Funeral". When we arrived in Zurich we moved to our next plane and waited for about 30 minutes, we got on a bus and it took us to our plane.



The plane ride was 1 hour but felt shorter! and then the moment of realization, I WAS IN ITALY!!! After waiting for 6 months I WAS IN ITALY! It was amazing!!! We got on a bus and went to our hotel where the orientation was being held. I wont go into great detail about the orientation because it was long but here is a short description: I met hundreds of kids from different countries, everyone except the Americans spoke 2 or more languages and the food was amazing.



On sunday everyone left with their families, on buses, trains or planes. Since my house was in Roma my family picked me up.
     When I got to my house I unpacked and tried to organize my room (it is still not completely organized...) had dinner with my family, drank champagne to celebrate my arrival, Then I went out with Beatrice to meet some of her friends.





The next day I woke up late because I didn't get much sleep, I ate lunch (pasta con pesto) then went out with Beatrice to the piazza!
      Today I went to la scuola d'arte...it was hard to say the least. I'm glad I'm going to an art school instead of a technical school, art is a bit easier to figure out but I am still struggling with the language barrier. Luckily my sister speaks good enough English to explain what going on. After school we went to la piazza and waited for the bus to come and take us home, I was so tired I almost fell asleep on the bus :P so when I got home I crashed for 3 hours. I woke up to everyone telling me we were going to visit my other sister Linda in Champagno? So I got ready as fast as I could. When we arrived in Champagno Beatrice and I walked to a park and met with one of her friends, she was really nice.



Then we went to Linda's house and ate a fantastic dinner. Linda has 2 small children Gabrielle (4) e Virginia (7 o 8), I played catch with Gabrielle for a while and we watched "The sword and the stone" in italiano of course.



    Beh, this blog was a bit disorganized because I had SO MUCH to say, the next one will be better I promise. I AM IN ITALY!!! LOVE YOU ALL!!!
BUONANOTTE!

Monday, September 6, 2010

Last Day In New Mexico!!!

Countdown til Departure- 3 days
Today was my last day in good ole Taos, I didn't do much but pack and do the laundry. I said goodbye to all the people I wanted to, but I have yet to say goodbye to Taos...I will miss it. I think I'm going to miss my puppy Gugu so much, her cute puppy face looking at me everyday, playing fetch with her and giving her walks (which I didn't do as often as I should have), shes really going to be hard to say goodbye too...Its going to be difficult but I know the second I arrive in Italy I'm going to forget all about that! I know it will take me a while to get over the shock of it, we will see how that goes haha.
I cant wait to leave tomorrow!!!  I cant wait to be completely packed hahaha.
Well I'm off to a dinner party :)
Ciao, Bacchio!
-Adeliza